Eternal Mourning (Talon Pack #7) by Carrie Ann Ryan


In the seventh book of the Talon Pack series from NYT Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan, a Healer is forced to come to grips with the idea that he can’t save everyone…including the woman he loves.

Walker Brentwood vowed to the moon goddess that he’d protect his Pack and Heal with every last ounce of his power. He’s watched his siblings and cousin battle the worst circumstances to find love and is now afraid that the one woman who could be his might not have much time left. The rules of mating have changed, and Walker will do what he has to in order to protect the bonds that have eluded him for so long.

Aimee Reagan knows there’s something wrong with her. She’s known since the first time she found out shifters were real and magic existed. When the Talon Pack’s enemy sets his sights on her, her battle to survive becomes even harder.

Walker and Aimee must turn to each other when the powers around them change and the paths that had been laid before them are no longer clear. But when their passion threatens a curse far older than anyone dreamed, they’ll only have one chance to save something worth more than a mating bond. Their future.

Eternal Mourning (Talon Pack, #7)Eternal Mourning by Carrie Ann Ryan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book seven in the ongoing Talon Pack saga focuses on Walker, the pack healer, and Aimee, a human.  Walker knows what he wants from life, but because of the problems with the pack mate bonds, he isn’t sure how to recognize it if he finds it.  Aimee, on the other hand, doesn’t think she will be around long enough to have what she wants from life.

Despite everything that is going on, Walker still has that “glass half full” mentality.  He seems to feel like if he just keeps working, researching, moving, things are going to work out and they will find the answers they are looking for.  He does not seem to ever have any doubts that he will find the answers to the pack mate bonds, he will find a way to make Aimee better, he will be able to keep his pack mates and family alive.  His strength of character in the face of massive adversity speaks volumes about the type of person that he is.

Aimee has dealt with her own types of adversity.  It seems that no matter how hard she works, life just keeps her down.  Now, her health is failing her and none of the doctors can figure out why.

As always, the author has given us a story full of love and family, while also throwing in enough action and bad guys to keep us enthralled.  It was definitely a  well written story, with intriguing characters, and secrets aplenty.  I never knew what was coming next, and I can’t wait to see what the author has up her sleeve next!

Although each book in the series focuses on a new couple, there is an underlying story arc that continues from book to book.  Each story can be read alone, but there are things that probably won’t make sense, unless you have already read the other stories in the series.  Each book ends in a HEA for the main characters, but leaves enough open questions to transition smoothly into the next book.  I recommend reading all of the books in the series, as well as the Redwood pack books, in order to get the full effect of the ongoing story line.

View all my reviews

Goodreads  Bookbub  Amazon  B&N  Kobo  Google  iBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s